4254 0050 1006 2552

When first I lost you I was unconcerned
I knew you’d come back
Maybe not today or the next
But eventually and inevitably
Like that time I lost my wallet
And it turned up in a park
Full of cash and cards
Two states away.

I figured you dropped out of my pocket
As I rode back from the Farmer’s Market
With peaches and strawberries
And five avocados
(I’d eaten the sixth)
The drunk Mexican guys
Outside the taqueria yelled
Hey, you dropped something.

I thought you’d turn up.
I thought you’d come back.
I want you, I miss you, I need you.
Without you, there’s an empty space.

I miss the way you sparkled.
I miss your bright colors.
I miss running my hands over you
And feeling my own name
Embossed on your surface.

You have ten days
Before your replacement
Arrives in the mail.

One Comment

  1. bijoublog
    Posted December 29, 2008 at 1:39 am | Permalink

    really wonderful. i love the final touche.

    check me out at http://bijoublog.wordpress.com/.


Post a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.

