Paris ’03

A stretch of cobble accents the maze-like streets though Le Marais district in Paris.  Stifled by heat wave, but enamored by presence, I transcend the physical discomfort to seek out just one more perfect café . The red wine is served chilled and the cheese sweats when brought to your table, but I don’t mind.    I migrate through the shocking warmth at a sluggish pace, but can still really move. The most glamorous city on earth is merely made more exotic by the heightened temperature.  Smells and sounds become more viscous with every step.  I am alive with anonymity and an outsider’s grace.  I could live and die in this state of exploration.

2 Comments

  1. Posted October 15, 2008 at 8:31 pm | Permalink

    Wow.

  2. bijoublog
    Posted December 29, 2008 at 1:36 am | Permalink

    i spent a week in the marais in the top floor of an apartment building with a mansard roof. i dined on oysters at the metropole brasserie and scooped up spoonfuls of chocolate mousse at le terroir in the 13th arrondisement. i walked for miles but my feet never ached because paris was so eloquent that i forget how to feel pain. half my heart still sits in paris, at Le Jaune Taxi, a small bistro on the street outside my borrowed apartment owned by an italian opera singer who came for sips of parisian air. i will meet her there one day in paris.

    love your blogging. check me out at http://bijoublog.wordpress.com/.


Post a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.

