Dear Alan Watts

Dear Alan Watts,

I wish I could have known you, been alive when you were alive, talked to you and maybe studied with you, heard your deep throated laugh in person and watched the skin wrinkle up around your eyes.

What does the time I live matter?  “Then” has past, is stagnant, unchangeable, it has happened.  But “now” is fluid with opportunities, developing, growing, alive. There is no “then.” You exist only now, in the digitized recordings and printed words I read. Like art, alive through my experience of you.  If there is only now, what am I, this place I am, my features, style of existence, the dirt I walk on?  It is all built on then, everything now is made of every moment up until this moment –  the only real moment, now.

When I hear your voice, hear the chalk scraping on the chalk board, read your words, it all has a sense of dynamic aliveness. I feel parts of myself opening up, new paths appearing toward possibility.  You are now, a part of the dirt, and me.  I will know you when I truly know now.

One Comment

  1. Posted September 8, 2008 at 6:41 pm | Permalink

    Who is this man who, in the 60’s and 70’s, blended Eastern and Western philosophy and religion in such a way that it was palatable and enlightening to the American public? Alan Watts, was a philosopher, teacher, and lecturer. He wrote more than twenty-five books and numerous articles on subjects such as personal identity, the true nature of reality, higher consciousness, and the pursuit of happiness, relating his experience to scientific knowledge and to the teachings of Zen Buddhism, Taoism, Christianity, and Hinduism.

    [audio src="http://www.archive.org/download/NightRide-V64-Watts/NightRide-V63-Wattshour1_64kb.mp3" /]
    Night Ride – v64 – Watts – hour 1

    [audio src="http://www.archive.org/download/NightRide-V64-Watts/NightRide-V64-Wattshour2_64kb.mp3" /]
    Night Ride – v64 – Watts – hour 2


Post a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.

